ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York


County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

2. Exemptions


Assessor Pages

     Assessors Pages  
 
 Click here to return to Assessor's main page

1.  Assessments
     How assessments are determined. 
     FAQ's

2.  Exemptions
     Common exemptions available.
     FAQ's

3.  Assessment Cycle
     Challenge Information
     Important Timetable
   
FAQ's

4.  Data Collection
     Building permits
     Property Sales
     Field Review
     Property Inspections
     FAQ's

5.  Resources
      
Helpful Links

6.  Glossary
     
Common Terms

 Accept and process real property tax exemptions according to NYS Real Property Tax Law.

 Available Exemptions

Application deadline March 1st

STAR (School Tax Relief)

STAR (School Tax Relief)    

NEW for 2016

New STAR applicants will receive a credit in the form of a check directly from NYS instead of receiving a school property tax exemption.  The amount of your STAR benefit is the same regardless of how you receive it.

New Basic and Enhanced STAR applicants need to register with the New York State Tax Department to receive a STAR check. Visit www.tax.ny.gov  or call (518)-457-2036 for further information, deadlines and eligibility requirements.

 

All other exemptions continue to be administered by the Assessor's Office.  The deadline for filing the exemptions listed below is MARCH 1st of each year.

 


Low Income Senior (renewal required)
Age 65 or older (within the calendar year) AND
Income Limit $32,400 (taxable & non-taxable income)
Enhanced (Senior) STAR Renewals

  • Contact the Assessor's office for Information

 

Veteran’s (no renewal required)
Alternative Exemption - Active Duty during wartime period
OR
Cold War Veteran Exemption –
Dates of Service -
9/2/45 to 12/26/91
(exclusive of training)

 

Disability w/ limited income (renewal required)

Documented Disability (Award Letter) from Social Security, Railroad Retirement Board, State Commission of Blind or Visually Handicapped, or US Postal Service
AND
Income limit $32,400 Gross (taxable and non-taxable income)

Agricultural (renewal required)
See Assessor’s Office for exemption requirements

 

Business Investment Exemption
Contact the Assessor’s Office for exemption requirements