ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York

County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities


Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Over 10,000 pens donated in 2013, launching new effort for 2014

Erie County, NY - Last year Erie County Clerk Chris Jacobs launched an innovative initiative to try to save money for Erie County taxpayers. Soon after taking office Jacobs discovered that the Erie County Auto Bureau was purchasing nearly 10,000 pens a year for the County Auto Bureaus due to customers having a “tendency to walk out the door with them,” says Jacobs.

Jacobs came up with a creative resolution to save taxpayer dollars while helping locally owned businesses who frequently advertise by having pens with their company logos on them used at the Erie County Auto Bureaus. “These businesses actually want folks to take their pens so we thought it was a perfect solution,” said Jacobs.

Jacobs asked locally owned businesses to consider donating pens to the Auto Bureaus. “The campaign has been a true success, we have received over 13,000 pen donations, so we did not have to spend a ‘dime’ on pens for the Auto Bureaus all year,” said County Clerk Jacobs.

“The initiative was so successful, we are nearly out of all the donated pens, so we are beginning the campaign again for this year,” Jacobs added. In a typical week, 250 pens are distributed to an audience of over 9,600 customers.

Businesses interested in donating pens to promote their business can contact the Erie County Clerk’s Office at (716) 858-6985 or e-mail Thea.Tio@erie.gov.

Companies may also choose to have their pens distributed at a specific Auto Bureau location/s: Rath Building, 95 Franklin Street (Downtown); Urbandale Plaza, 2122 George Urban Boulevard (Cheektowaga); Eastern Hills Mall, 4545 Transit Road (Williamsville); Northtown Plaza, 3095 Sheridan Drive (Amherst); E.C.C. South, 4041 Southwestern Boulevard (Orchard Park) and/or Evans Town Hall.

The Erie County Auto Bureau has six permanent locations and five mobile locations throughout Erie County and assists approximately 500,000 motorists every year.