The Erie County Pistol Permit Department recently received information that the New York State Police will send letters to pistol permit holders who received permits prior to January 15, 2013 that will provide information on the pistol permit re-certification process required under the NYSAFE Act. The notified permit holders will have until January 31, 2018 to submit their re-certification form in order to be in compliance. If your license was issued on or after January 15, 2013, the deadline to re-certify is five years after the date the license was issued.
- NYS Police Recertification Process Letter
- NYS License Recertification Form
- NYS Pistol Permit Online Recertification Site
The State Police will be solely responsible for this new requirement and all questions regarding this process should be directed to them. The State Police will follow up with the permit holder if there are any discrepancies between the information provided and the information on file.
DO NOT SEND YOUR RECERTIFICATION FORM TO THIS OFFICE
NYS SAFE Act Information
New York State’s recently passed gun law the “NY SAFE ACT” includes the ability for pistol permit holders to "Opt-Out" and request that their information be kept private and confidential. The law provides 60-days (expires April 15, 2013) for permit holders to exercise this “opt-out” provision and 120 day moratorium (expires May 15, 2013) before someone can make a request for pistol records. We encourage pistol permit holders who want assurance that their records will be kept private from public disclosure to complete the form immediately and fax to716-858-6550 or mail to our Office. See the forms section of our home page.
Assault Weapon Information
There is also a section on what is and is not considered an assault weapons. This includes photos of weapons, banned features, a list of some of the banned weapons, and those firearms that are NOT considered assault weapons. The New York State Police have set up an online registration process for registering assault weapons. Registration forms can also be obtained by visiting a NYS Trooper station. For location and phone numbers, visit http://www.troopers.ny.gov/.
For additional information on the NYSAFE Act’s Recertification Program, please visit www.troopers.ny.gov/Firearms or call 1-855-LAW-GUNS (529-4867).