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Lost or Stolen 

Firearms 

Investigations 

Each year, thousands of firearms are 
reported lost or stolen. The owners’  
ability to adequately identify these 
firearms is central to law  
enforcement’s ability to investigate 
these crimes and losses.  
 

Insurance claims and reacquisition of 
recovered firearms will also hinge on 
the ability to correctly identify these 
firearms. 
 

Firearms owners should maintain an 
accurate record log of all the guns 
they own and inform family members 
where to find such a document if the 
need arises. 
 

This is an important step in the 
effort to identify loss or prevent thefts 
and to keep firearms out of the hands 
of criminals. 
 

Remember: 
“A stolen or lost gun  

threatens everyone.” 

Erie County Clerk’s Office  

Old County Hall      92 Franklin Street, Suite 1     Buffalo, NY 14202 

This guide is designed to assist family members  on 

what to do when a Pistol Permit Holder is no longer 

able to secure or maintain their firearms safely. 

a n d  C l o s e - O u t   
a  P i s t o l  Pe r m i t  



E r i e  C o u n t y  C l e r k ’ s  O f f i c e  

P i s t o l  P e r m i t  D e p a r t m e n t  

 

New York State Penal Law (Sections 400.05 and 265.20) requires that upon a pistol 
permit holder’s death, the decedent’s estate must, within 15 days, turn over the 
decedent’s firearm(s) to another pistol permit holder or a licensed dealer.   

If the handgun(s) are not disposed of within the fifteen day period, the  
handgun(s) must be turned into a law enforcement agency, which will 
hold the handgun(s) for safekeeping until proper disposal can be arranged 
or authorization is given for destruction.  

The handgun(s) can only be held for a period of one year, at which time they 
are declared a nuisance and destroyed in accordance with New York State 
Penal Law. 

To properly transfer handgun(s) of a decedent that had an Erie County Pistol  
Permit to another NYS Pistol Permit holder: 

Executor or Administrator of the estate must complete the “Transfer of Estate” 
form for all weapons listed on the pistol permit. That form is available on the Erie 
County Pistol Permit website www.erie.gov/clerk/pistolpermitforms.  

Submit the signed form to the Erie County Clerk, Pistol  
Permit Division, along with the following required documentation: 

 Photocopy of death certificate 

 Proof of executor, executrix, or administrator (photocopy of page 
of the will of the deceased, or authorization letter/form from  
Surrogates Court naming executor.) 

 Permit of the decedent (if available) 

 Proof of NICS Background Check, if applicable 

 Property receipt from a police agency, if applicable 
 

If you are selling/giving guns to anyone outside of New York State, the weapons 
must be taken to a NYS firearms Dealer to have them shipped out of state. 

 
We are required to charge a $3.00 processing fee for the close-out of all Pistol  
Permits; payment must be in the form or a check or money order payable to the Erie 
County Clerk.  Additional fees will apply if transferring weapons  to another per-
mit holder. 

Please Note: This pamphlet is informational only and does not constitute legal advice 
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Visit us at www.erie.gov/clerk/pistolpermits 


