title_header

ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York


County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

Legislator Dixon applauds implementation of ‘Social Host Law’


OFFICE HIGHLIGHTS

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon in partnership with the Erie County Sheriff’s Office will hold a free Boater Safety Course that allows boaters to meet the requirements of New York State law.  The course will be held from 5 to 9 p.m...

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon announces that the Legislature has unanimously approved two resolutions at the March 23, 2017 session that call on Congress to restore funding for critical programs: Meals on Wheels and Home Energy Assistance...

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon and the Erie County Council for the Prevention of Alcohol and Substance Abuse (ECCPASA) announce the kick off of April – Alcohol Awareness Month. Legislator Dixon presented a proclamation to Robin Mann,...

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon and Urban Valet Dry Cleaner President Eric Pyne remind the community that gently used or new gowns and dresses will be collected through Thursday, April 13 for the 8th annual Prom Dress Drive....

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon presented a proclamation to Jeff Wilson, the 2017 St. Patrick’s Day Parade Grand Marshal, at the March 9, 2017 session. He was joined by his wife, Lynn, and members of the United Irish American Association...

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon is pleased that the final step has been taken to create a new local law that makes adults responsible for allowing minors to consume alcohol on their property.

 

“I want to thank the County Executive for supporting this initiative and signing it into law.  When I first proposed the local law, my hope was to curb the careless approach many adults take concerning underage drinking. Parents and guardians who allow minors who are not their children to drink on their property put everyone at risk. As parents, we need to come together to protect not only our own children but those who come onto our property. This law simply makes property owners responsible for the activities that happen at their home to ensure we are taking every precaution to keep teens safe,” said Legislator Dixon. “I also want to thank the Erie County Council for the Prevention of Alcohol and Substance Abuse for their guidance in creating this law so that we can keep our young people safe.”

 

With the County Executive’s signature, the law goes into effect.

 

Offenders of the law will be charged with a violation and fined $250 for the first offense and $500 for the second offense. On the third and subsequent offenses, offenders could be charged with a misdemeanor. To review a copy of the local law or for additional Erie County Legislature news, please visit www.erie.gov/legislature