Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon is once again partnering with the Erie County Sheriff’s Office to hold a free boater safety course.
The two-part course will be held from 5 to 9 p.m., June 11, 2018 and 5 to 9 p.m., June 12, 2018 at the Lodge at Woodlawn Beach, S-3580 Lakeshore Road, Blasdell. Registrants must attend both sessions of the two-day course in order to be eligible for a New York State Boating Safety Card.
According to New York State law, individuals may not operate a personal watercraft (JetSki, SeaDoo, etc.) unless they are at least 14 years of age and hold a boater safety certificate for having completed an 8-hour classroom based course of instruction.
“I would like to thank the Sheriff’s office for teaming up with my office to hold this class free of charge,” said Legislator Lynne Dixon. “As summer approaches and many people are eager to get out and enjoy the water, safety is extremely important. This course provides the education and training needed to follow safe boating practices.”
The course focuses on the fundamentals of safe boating operation and has been approved by the National Association of Boating Law Administrators.
The following requirements apply:
- Students must be at least 10 years of age to attend the course.
- This course requires a minimum of 8 hours of classroom instruction.
- Students must pass a final exam with a score of 76 percent.
- Students will receive a temporary boating safety certificate upon completion of the course.
- Students 18 years of age and older will be required to pay a $10 fee to NYS for issuance of a permanent boating safety certificate.
- Permanent boating safety certificates do not expire.
Space is limited and it is anticipated that spots will fill up quickly. For additional information or to register, please contact Legislator Dixon at 858-8671 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.