ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York

County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

County Legislature Democrats Seeks Dr. Hicks Be Appointed NFTA Commissioner


                The Erie County Legislature will request Governor Andrew M. Cuomo to appoint Dr. Wesley L. Hicks Jr. of Angola to the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority (NFTA) Board of Commissioners at its Thursday, November 29, meeting.

                Dr. Hicks, a medical doctor and dentist, is currently the chair of the Department of Head and Neck Surgery/Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and attending surgeon in the Department of Head and Neck Surgery at Roswell Park Cancer Institute. He earned his medical degree from the State University of Buffalo and is also a graduate of the Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry. He earned a bachelor of arts degree in history from the Cornell University College of Arts and Sciences.

                “Dr. Hicks offers solid credentials and a deep commitment to our region, along with energy and enthusiasm for the appointment and a stated commitment to this Legislature’s Economic Development Committee concerning communications, collaboration and information sharing,” Legislature Chairperson Betty Jean Grant (D-Buffalo) said. “Dr. Hicks recognizes that Buffalo Niagara’s public transportation system is an economic development engine that can power strategic linkages between where jobs are and where job seekers live.”

                Dr. Hicks is also an author and professor of both neurosurgery and biomedical engineering at the State University of Buffalo School of Medicine, and the Legislature Democratic Majority believes that he “possesses an exceptional understanding of complex matters, enabling him to excel as a member of the governing board of the NFTA.”

                If appointed, Dr. Hicks will serve the balance of a five-year term ending June 30, 2016.