A RESOLUTION TO BE SUBMITTED BY LEGISLATORS GRANT, MAZUR, MILLS, HOGUES, MARINELLI, LOUGHRAN, McCRACKEN & DIXON

LNTRD 2-4

RE: Legislature Recommendation for Reappointment to the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority Board of Commissioners

WHEREAS, the NYS Public Authorities Law, Section 1299-C, provides that of the eleven members of the NFTA Board of Commissioners, one shall be appointed by the Governor of New York upon the recommendation of the Erie County Legislature; and

WHEREAS, James J. Eagan has served as the Legislature's representative on the Board of Commissioners since 2008, and has requested consideration to continue in this important public policy position; and

WHEREAS, Commissioner Eagan has been most responsive and thoughtful as the Legislature's liaison, and he has maintained a strong working relationship with this body and has been quick to respond to policy concerns and suggestions; and

WHEREAS, understanding that with serious financial challenges facing the NFTA and its core mission of public transportation, Mr. Eagan's knowledge of NFTA operations as a current board member, as well as his experience as a principal of a national financial services company, are advantageous to both the Legislature and the NFTA; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Eagan has established a lifetime of excellence in service to our community; he has earned a strong reputation of leadership in business and community involvement, and he is known for consistently demonstrating a spirit of cooperation and mutual respect in his volunteer and professional endeavors.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT

2

RESOLVED, that the Erie County Legislature respectfully calls upon the Governor of New York State, the Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo, to reappoint NFTA Commissioner James J. Eagan (4 Kingfisher Court, Orchard Park, NY 14127), as a member of the Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority Board of Commissioners, to complete a five-year term ending on June 30, 2016; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Clerk of the Legislature is hereby authorized to forward certified copies of this resolution to Governor Cuomo; the Majority Leader of the New York State Senate, the Honorable Dean G. Skelos; the Secretary of the NFTA Board of Commissioners; and NFTA Commissioner James J. Eagan.

FISCAL IMPACT: None for resolution.