LOCAL LAW TO BE ENACTED BY
THE ERIE COUNTY LEGISLATURE
IN THE

COUNTY OF ERIE
LOCAL LAW INTRO. — NO. 2-1 . 2018

LOCAL LAW NO. - 2018

A Law amending Local Law 2 (2014) to include the known abuse of drugs on property as a
violation of the Social Host Law.

SECTION 1. LEGISLATIVE INTENT

A. The Legislature of the County of Erie finds that underage drinking and drug abuse is a
significant societal problem that has generated widespread concern in Erie County.
Although the New York State Legislature has acted to prevent the unlawful giving,
selling and possessing of alcohol in relation to individuals under the age of 21, it has not
regulated the situation where a person who is 21 years old or more knowingly allows the
consumption of alcohol or drugs by a minor in his or her home or other privately owned
property. The underage consumption of alcohol and/or drugs, whether at a party or a
smaller gathering, poses an immediate threat to the public health, safety and welfare of
the residents of Erie County, often leading to alcohol abuse by minors, physical

altercations, accidental injuries, neighborhood vandalism, excessive noise disturbances
requiring the intervention of local law enforcement, and the commission of violent crimes
including sexual offenses and serious assaults. Further, within the last few years, the
number of young people addicted to opioids throughout the United States, and especially
in Erie County, has exponentially increased. As a result. opioid related deaths have
become all too common occurrences, devastating countless addicted individuals. families,
and communities.

This local law will serve to deter the consumption of alcoholic beverages and drugs by
minors by holding those persons who are 21 years old or more responsible when they
knowingly allow the consumption of alcoholic beverages by minors at their residences or
on their privately owned property.
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SECTION 2. DEFINITIONS
Wherever used in this chapter, unless the context or subject matter otherwise requires:

A. “Alcohol” shall mean ethyl alcohol, hydrated oxide of ethyl or spirits of wine, from
whatever source or by whatever means produced.

B. “Alcoholic beverage” shall mean any liquor, wine, beer, spirits, cider or other liquid, or
solid, patented or not, composed of, or containing, alcohol or spirits, whether or not
brewed, fermented or distilled, and capable of being consumed by a person, except that
confectionery containing alcohol as provided by subdivision twelve of section two
hundred of the New York State Agriculture and Markets Law shall not be regarded as an
alcoholic beverage within the meaning of this section.

C. “Allow” shall mean to give permission for, or approval of, possession or consumption of
alcohol, [or] an alcoholic beverage, and/or drugs, by any of the following means:
a. in writing;
b. by oral statement; or
c. by any conduct that would cause a reasonable person to believe that permission or
approval has been given.

D. “Controls a private residence” shall mean possesses authority to regulate, direct, restrain,
superintend, control or govern the conduct of other individuals on or within that
residence, and includes, but is not limited to, a possessory right.

E. “Drugs” shall mean any substance listed in schedule I, II, I1I, and IV of New York State
Public Health Law §3306, including but not limited to marijuana, heroin, hydrocodone,
oxycodone, fentanyl, anabolic steroids, and cocaine.

F. “Knowingly” shall mean to be aware of, or having reason to be aware of, the
consumption of drugs or alcohol by a minor.

G. “Minor” shall mean any person under the age of twenty-one.

H. “Practitioner” shall mean a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or other person licensed or
otherwise permitted to dispense or administer a controlled substance in the course of a
licensed professional practice pursuant to Article 33 of the New York State Public Health
Law. Such person shall be deemed a practitioner only as to such substances. or conduct
relating to such substances, as is permitted by his license, permit or otherwise permitted

by law.
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[.  “Reasonable corrective action” shall include, but not be limited to:
a. making a prompt demand that such minor refrain from further consumption of the
alcoholic beverages and/or drugs; or
b. if such minor does not comply with such request, either promptly reporting such
underage consumption of alcohol and/or drugs:
1. to the local law enforcement agency; or
2. to the minor’s parent or guardian.

J. “Residence” shall mean any home, apartment, condominium, co-operative unit or other
dwelling unit of any kind, including yards and open areas adjacent thereto.

SECTION 4. UNLAWFUL CONSUMPTION OF ALCOHOL OR DRUGS BY A MINOR
AT A RESIDENCE

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who is 21 years old or more who owns, rents, or
otherwise controls a private residence, to knowingly allow the consumption of alcohol,
[or] alcoholic beverages, and/or drugs by one or more minors on such premises or to fail
to take reasonable corrective action upon becoming aware of the consumption of alcohol,
[or] alcoholic beverages, and/or drugs by one or more minors on such premises.

B. The provisions of subdivision (a) of this section shall not apply to:

a. the consumption of alcohol or alcoholic beverages by a minor whose parent or
guardian has given such alcohol or alcoholic beverage to such minor;

b. the use and consumption of alcohol or alcoholic beverages by a minor for
religious purposes; [or]

e the use or consumption of alcohol or alcoholic beverages by a minor who is a

student in a curriculum licensed or registered by the New York State
Education Department and the student is required to taste or imbibe alcoholic
beverages in courses which are a part of the required curriculum, provided
such alcoholic beverages are used only for instructional purposes during class
conducted pursuant to such curriculum; or

d. the consumption of drugs by a minor that have been prescribed by a
practitioner pursuant to the New York State Public Health Law and all other
applicable rules and regulations, and is consumed as directed by the

prescription.
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SECTION 5. PENALTIES AND ENFORCEMENT

A. Aviolation of SECTION 4 of this law shall constitute a violation of law for the first and
second offense, and a misdemeanor for the third and subsequent offenses. Each offense
and subsequent offense shall be punishable as follows:

a) First offense. Any person who violates section 4 of this chapter shall be punished
by a fine of two hundred and fifty dollars, where such violation constitutes the
person’s first offense in violation of this provision.

b) Second offense. Any person who violates section 4 of this chapter shall be
punished by a fine of five hundred dollars, where such violation constitutes the
person’s second offense in violation of this provision.

¢) Third and subsequent offenses. Any person who violates section 4 of this chapter
shall be punished by either a fine of one thousand dollars, a term of
imprisonment not to exceed one year, or both a fine of one thousand dollars
and a term of imprisonment not to exceed one year, where such violation
constitutes the person’s third or subsequent offense in violation of this
provision.

d) This local law may be enforced or held active by any Police agency with authority
for enforcement within their jurisdiction.

B. Further, in accordance with NY General Obligation Law §83-113(1) this law shall hold
the parents or guardian liable for up to $5.,000 worth of damage for the acts of a minor
under said guardian’s supervision.

SECTION 6. EFFECT ON OTHER LAWS

The provisions of section 4 of this chapter shall not in any way affect the application of
any other law, where appropriate, including but not limited to New York State Penal Law
section 260.10 (Endangering the welfare of a child) and section 260.20(2) (Unlawfully
dealing with a child in the first degree).

SECTION 7. SEVERABILITY

If any clause, sentence, paragraph, or section of this chapter shall be held invalid by any
court of competent jurisdiction, or the application of this chapter to any person or set of
circumstances shall be held invalid, such invalidity or judgment shall not affect, impair,
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or invalidate the remainder thereof, but shall be confined in its operation to the clause,
sentence, paragraph, section, or operation of this chapter directly involved in the
controversy in which the judgment shall have been rendered. To further this end, the
provisions of this chapter are hereby declared to be severable.

SECTION 8. REVERSE PREEMPTION

This chapter shall be null and void on the day that federal or statewide legislation goes
into effect, incorporating either the same or substantially similar provisions as are
contained in this chapter, or in the event that a pertinent state or federal administrative
agency issues and promulgates regulations preempting such action by the County of Erie.
The County Legislature may determine via mere resolution whether or not identical or
substantially similar federal or statewide legislation or pertinent preempting state or
federal regulations have been enacted for purposes of triggering the provisions of this
section.

SECTION 9. EFFECTIVE DATE AND APPLICABILITY

This Local Law shall be effective immediately following filing in the Office of the
Secretary of State and shall apply to all prohibited instances occurring on or after the
effective date of this local law.

Sponsor: Legislator Dixon

Co-Sponsor: Legislators Lorigo, Rath, Hardwick and Mills
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