ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York

County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

Majority Leader opposes ECC tuition increase


Mill and overlay operations on Bullis Road and repaving of the Rice Road and Girdle Road entrance to Elma Meadows Park

Legislator Joe joined Holland Town Supervisor Mike Kasprzyk and Highway Superintendent Pat Joyce to survey roads throughout the town 

The conditions of these roads are truly horrendous
The report’s findings are deeply disturbing and we need to address the issues raised in the report
We agree with the recommendations of the report and believe Commissioner Schad should resign immediately

Erie County Legislature Majority Leader Joseph Lorigo released the following statement after today’s Legislature vote on the Erie Community College budget:


“The ECC Board of Trustees has included another tuition hike in next year’s budget. I cannot support a budget that again raises the cost for students. We continue to see enrollment drop and raising the cost of tuition is not going to fix ECC’s financial issues. It makes it more difficult for students to attend ECC and further their education. I will continue to work with ECC to get on the right track to ensure we are serving and helping them to succeed, but I cannot support a budget that pushes a tuition hike onto students for the seventh consecutive year,” said Majority Leader Lorigo.


Majority Leader Lorigo noted that the Legislature has worked to assist ECC with its budgetary problems through other methods. The past two years the Erie County Legislature Majority Caucus sponsored proposals to allocate funding for the retirement incentive program. As a result, ECC realized savings.  


On top of the tuition increase that ECC officials put in its budget, students will also have to deal with the 3.1 percent ($200) system-wide increase approved June 21 by the SUNY Board of Trustees.