Youth Board

The Erie County Youth Board is a citizen advisory panel. Board members are volunteers who advise the Youth Bureau on matters of positive youth development, delinquency prevention, and runaway and homeless youth. The Youth Bureau and Board work closely together to ensure that the best possible youth programs in Erie County are supported in their missions. Board members review and approve applications for state and county funding for services to youth. Together, they work with the Youth Bureau staff to make funding recommendations to the Erie County Executive and Legislature.

In order to ensure that the youth of Erie County are receiving the best programs available, board members attend meetings on the second Monday of the month. Board members are also encouraged to attend agency site visits. In addition to volunteers from the community, the Board is also made up of at least two youth volunteers from area schools. Furthermore, Liaisons to the Board are volunteers who attend Board meetings but who have no voting privileges. These members are selected for their experience and knowledge in youth matters and are a valuable resource to the Board.

For more information, or for anyone interested in becoming a member of the Youth Board, please contact Ben Hilligas, Youth Bureau Director, at (716) 923-4051 or

Board Members

Liza Acanfora

Zachary Barry

Kendall Bazinet

Kelli Blakely

David Caywood

Jeffrey Davis

Paul Denning

Veronica Golden

Peter Johnson

Susan Lumadue

Juliana Norton

Mitchell Nowakowski

Kathleen O'Brien

Brian Rochford

Sheila Schostick

Ryan Taughrin

S.N.A.P. Coordinator, Erie 2 Chautauqua – Cattaraugus BOCES

Care Coordinator, Hillside Children's Center

Williams College Student

Probation Supervisor, Erie County Probation Department

Principal Law Clerk, Hon. Christopher Burns, New York State Supreme Court

Buffalo State College Student

Retired H.R. Professional

Social Worker, Erie County Medical Center

Writer; Filmmaker; Entrepreneur

Contract Monitor/H.R. Planner - Office of Contract Administration, City of Buffalo

D'Youville College Student

Legislative Staff, Councilman David A. Rivera, City of Buffalo

Corporate Compliance Specialist, Community Services for the Developmentally Disabled

Vice President/Relationship Manager, First Niagara Bank

Project Manager, M&T Bank

Admissions & Student Services Coordinator, University at Buffalo 


















Erie County Youth Board By-Laws (pdf)