Please take time to register your snowmobile and trailer at any one of our Auto Bureau locations and help keep a portion of registration fees in Erie County. State law requires that any snowmobile and trailer must be registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
To register using the "Renew Local" envelope, riders need to complete and mail in both sides of a New York State Snowmobile Registration Form (MV-82SN), a photocopy of their existing snowmobile registration, and a copy of the registrant's driver's license. Snowmobile club members need to also send proof of membership in a NYSSA snowmobile club. Mail everything to: Erie County Clerk, 92 Franklin St., Suite 1, Buffalo, NY 14202 including a check, per sled, made payable to the "Erie County Clerk." A snowmobile registration will be mailed back within 10 business days upon receipt of the renewal form.
Erie County snowmobile trails are usually scheduled to open in mid-December, providing the ground is frozen and there is at least 6 inches of snow. Riders are encouraged to check with their local clubs to ensure trails have been opened and to obtain the latest information on snowmobiling safety courses in and around Erie County.
Members of a snowmobile club will save money on their sled's registration, as the rate is only $45. Nonmembers will pay the full registration cost of $100. Snowmobilers are encouraged to contact the New York State Snowmobile Association by visiting www.nysnowmobiler.com for information on joining local clubs and to obtain a registration voucher. All but $10 of each registration fee goes to the Snowmobile Trail Development and Maintenance Fund, which supports 10,500 miles of public snowmobile trails across New York state.
For your convenience, don't stand in line- make a reservation online.