Opiate Epidemic Task Force

About the Task Force

The Opiate Epidemic Task Force was created by Executive Order #014.  The Task Force is composed of seven (7) committees, which will meet regularly and report back to the group.

  1. Provider Education & Policy Reform - led by Dr. Paul Updike, Catholic Health and Erie County Commissioner of Health, Dr. Gale BursteinTask Force Committees
  2. Community Education - led by Barbara Burns of the U.S. Attorney General’s Office, Western Region of NY
  3. Families and Consumer Support & Advocacy - led by Debra Smith, Parent Advocate
  4. REAP Program - led by Dan Rinaldo of NYNJ-HIDTA (High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area)
  5. Treatment Providers - led by Erie County Commissioner of Mental Health, Michael Ranney
  6. Hospitals/ER ROI Project - led by Dr. Joshua Lynch
  7. Naloxone Access - led by Cheryll Moore of the Erie County Department of Health  
Hope and Help Campaign
Quarterly Meeting Presentations
  • Click here for the Committee Presentations that were given at the quarterly meetings  

Related Programs
Program Contact

Cheryll Moore
Medical Care Administrator
95 Franklin St., Room 911
Buffalo, NY 14202
Phone: (716) 858-7695
Fax: (716) 858-8701


Org Chart

Frequently Requested



Phone: (716) 858-7690

Fax: (716) 858-8701

Erie County Department of Health (ECDOH)
95 Franklin Street
Buffalo, New York 14202

ECDOH Locations