

## STATE OF NEW YORK DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND MARKETS 10B AIRLINE DRIVE ALBANY, NEW YORK 12235



Division of Land and Water Resources

518.457.457.5606 Fax: 518.457.3412

January 12, 2012

Robert M. Graber, Clerk Erie County Legislature 92 Franklin Building, 7<sup>th</sup> Floor Buffalo, NY 14202

Dear Mr. Garber:

November 18, 2012 will mark the anniversary of Erie County Agricultural Districts No.1 which was first formed on September 18, 1972.

Consistent with the requirements of the Agriculture and Markets Law, your legislative body must cause a review of the Districts to be conducted. This letter serves as a notice to initiate the review and generally defines the review process and time frame.

The review is designed to gauge the District's effect on local government policies concerning community development, environmental protection and preservation of the agricultural economy. The review must also consider how District farms and farm acres have furthered the purposes for which it was originally established, the extent to which it has achieved its original objectives and its degree of consistency with community economic and land use conditions.

The Agricultural District 8-year review procedures and forms are detailed on the Departments Website at: <a href="http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/programs.html">http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/programs.html</a> and <a href="http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/AP/agservices/agdistricts.html">http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/programs.html</a> and <a href="http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/AP/agservices/agdistricts.html">http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/programs.html</a> and <a href="http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/AP/agservices/agdistricts.html">http://www.agmkt.state.ny.us/AP/agservices/agdistricts.html</a>

If I can be of any assistance during the district review or if you have any questions regarding the Agricultural Districts Program, please call me at 518-457-5606 or e-mail at john.brennan@agriculture.ny.gov

Sincerely

John F. Brennan

Agricultural Districts Program Manager

cc: Dino J. Fudoli, Chair, AFPB

Darren E. Kempner, Deputy Planning Commissioner

Rachel Chrostowski, County Planning

2M-6