Erie County, Towns Reach New Snowplowing Agreement

Modified: November 2, 2016 2:00pm

Latest News

For press releases from other years, please click on one of the following links:


The Erie County Department of Public Works’ Highways Division has announced a new snowplowing agreement has been reached between Erie County and the Association representing over 30 municipalities that contract with the county for snowplowing. With 1,200 center lane miles of road in its inventory, the county relies on strong partnerships with the Towns to ensure that all county roads are plowed in the winter. The new contract, which must be approved by the Erie County legislature and the Town Boards of each of the municipalities, calls for an annual increase of 3% for the next three years for the municipalities.

“With winter already on the horizon it was necessary to reach an agreement as soon as possible, and I thank DPW Commissioner John Loffredo, Deputy DPW Commissioner Bill Geary and their counterparts from the Highway Superintendents Association for coming to the table in good faith and working out a plan that is realistic, fair, and amenable to all parties involved,” said Erie County Executive Mark C. Poloncarz. “Both sides understood we would have to compromise a little to reach a mutually agreeable position. This is an example of government working at multiple levels to serve county residents, and thanks go also to the Town Supervisors for acting on this important issue and helping to reach the solution we did.”

Town of Orchard Park Highway Superintendent Fred Piasecki said, “This contract is about everyone working together, to ensure public safety; not only for County residents and businesses, but anyone who travels throughout Erie County.”

Negotiations on the agreement were conducted by a nine-person committee consisting of three Highway Superintendents, three Town Supervisors and three members of the Erie County Department of Public Works. Pending approval by the legislature, the new contract will take effect in budget years 2016-17.

For more information:

On the Erie County Department of Public Works, visit