Erie County Department of Social Services Announces Class on How to Apply for Erie County Civil Service Exams

Modified: November 3, 2017 3:47pm

Latest News

Redirecting to our new, updated website ...

The Erie Department of Social Services has announced an upcoming class on “How to Apply for Erie County Civil Service Jobs”. The class will cover what makes a job “civil service,” the exam application process, how to find civil service job postings, and opportunities for advancement within the civil service. Requirements needed for coming entry-level positions will also be discussed.

Common Erie County Department of Social Services entry level job titles are: Social Welfare Examiner, Caseworker, Clerk, Clerk Typist and Child Protective Worker. There are approximately 140 Social Welfare Examiner positions in the Department of Social Services, 68 Caseworker positions, and 82 Child Protective Workers.

Most positions within the Erie County Department of Social Services require applicants to sit for a Civil Service examination. After the test is given and the civil service list is established, candidates are hired off the list. The Department must hire among the top three candidates remaining on the list, based on test score. The list remains active for several years and the Department is unable to hire individuals for these positions who are not on the list.

“Many of our entry-level positions are how our staff start their career with the Department of Social Services,” said Erie County Social Services Commissioner Al Dirschberger. “I strongly encourage all interested and qualified candidates to take this class to better understand how to have the opportunity to work in our organization.”

The “How to Apply for Erie County Civil Service Jobs” class will take place on Thursday, November 16, 2017 from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM at the Frank L. Merriweather, Jr. Library located at 1324 Jefferson Ave in Buffalo.

Interested individuals are asked to RSVP to Hannah Holden, ECDSS Community Coordinator, at 716-858-8679 or


For more information:

On the Erie County Department of Social Services, visit