ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York

County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

district 11

John J. Mills
District 11

district 4

Majority Leader
Joseph C. Lorigo
District 10

district 6

Kevin R. Hardwick
District 4

district 8

Edward A. Rath III
District 6

district 9

Ted Morton
District 8

district 10

Lynne M. Dixon
District 9


Erie County urges NYS to go forward with ‘open road tolling’ across the state

The Erie County Legislature’s Majority Caucus unanimously approved a resolution in support of upgrading the entire New York State Thruway system to electronic tolls, which would allow motorists to pass through more easily. Cars and trucks would be tolled through a high speed EZ Pass system that doesn’t require stopping and thus bringing with it many improvements.

Chairman, Vice Chairman of Legislature Budget Committee release statement on proposed 2017 budget

Erie County Legislature Majority Leader Joseph C. Lorigo, Chairman of the Legislature Budget Committee, and Legislator Edward A. Rath, Vice Chair of the Budget Committee, have released the following statement on the proposed 2017 budget.

Legislature recognizes Dysautonomia Awareness Month

Erie County Legislator Lynne Dixon, joined by Legislature Chairman John Mills, Legislature Majority Leader Joseph Lorigo, Legislator Edward Rath, Legislator Ted Morton and County Comptroller Stefan Mychajliw, presented a proclamation to Hamburg resident Laura Seil Ruszczyk on Thursday, Oct. 6, 2016, announcing that Erie County has designated October 2016 as Dysautonomia Awareness Month. Ruszczyk, who was diagnosed with the medical condition six years ago, has been working with Dysautonomia International to raise awareness of this disorder. Advocates like Ms. Seil Ruszczyk continue to fight to bring medical treatment to this region so that patients don’t have to travel hundreds of miles. 

Legislature, under leadership of Republican Majority, wins county-wide award for paper reduction

The Erie County Legislature’s Majority Caucus has taken several steps to reduce its paper consumption, along with the associated costs, as it further improves efforts to bring efficiency to the Legislature. As a result, the Legislature was declared the winner of the county’s Paper Reduction Contest for August 2016 with a 46.8 percent reduction from August 2015.

Local sites to participate in National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day

The Erie County Legislature's Majority Caucus reminds residents that National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day is from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 22 at several local sites. The event aims to provide a safe, convenient, and responsible means of disposing of prescription drugs, while also educating the general public about the potential for abuse of medications.