ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York

County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

district 4

Minority Leader
Joseph C. Lorigo
District 10

district 6

Kevin R. Hardwick
District 4

district 8

Edward A. Rath III
District 6

district 10

Lynne M. Dixon
District 9

district 11

 John J. Mills
District 11



County Legislators form Volunteer Outreach Team to assist community efforts

The Erie County Legislature’s Majority Caucus has formed a Volunteer Outreach Team to assist organizations in achieving their charitable goals. Any organizations located in Erie County that are in need of volunteers are encouraged to contact the Legislature.

Applicants sought to serve on Erie County’s Citizens’ Budget Review Commission

Erie County Legislature Chairman John J. Mills announces that the Erie County Legislature is in the process of accepting applications from residents who would like to serve on the Citizens’ Budget Review Commission. The commission provides civilian oversight of the county’s budget and monitors county finances to ensure the long-term fiscal stability of Erie County.

Legislature applauds Sheriff's Office's award-winner Veterans Housing Unit

The Erie County Legislature recognized the the Erie County Sheriff's Office on receiving the New York State Sheriff’s Association Institute’s 2014 “Innovative Program Award” for the implementation of the Veterans Housing Unit at the Holding Center.

Legislature Majority Caucus implements departmental reform initiatives

The Erie County Legislature’s Majority Caucus continues to implement initiatives that will improve efficiency and accountability within the Legislature. Starting in March, the entire Legislative staff was placed on the county’s electronic payroll swipe system; ensuring employees are accountable for their time worked.

Majority Caucus submits resolution opposing Governor’s plan to afford inmates a free college education

The Erie County Legislature Majority Caucus – Chairman John Mills, Majority Leader Joseph Lorigo and Legislators Lynne Dixon, Kevin Hardwick, Ted Morton and Edward Rath – have submitted a resolution for the March 13, 2014 session, opposing Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s proposal that would utilize tax dollars to provide inmates free college tuition. The Legislators join several elected officials and organizations that have come out in opposition of this proposal.