ERIE.GOV | Your information resource from the government of Erie County, New York

County Executive Elected Officials County Departments Living In Erie County Visiting Erie County Growing your business in Erie County State and regional municipalities

district 11

John J. Mills
District 11

district 4

Majority Leader
Joseph C. Lorigo
District 10

district 6

Kevin R. Hardwick
District 4

district 8

Edward A. Rath III
District 6

district 9

Ted Morton
District 8

district 10

Lynne M. Dixon
District 9


Legislature approves local law to revise Charter, voters to decide in November pending County Executive

The Erie County Legislature approved a local law that includes more than 50 revisions to the County Charter that improve how government operates.

Majority Caucus statement on County Executive withdrawing recommendation for Commissioner of Central Police Services

Erie County Legislature Majority Caucus was relieved to learn that the County Executive has withdrawn his recommendation for Commissioner of Central Police Services following serious concerns being brought to light about the individual’s past behavior toward a female subordinate.

Ethics reform supported by Majority Caucus

The Erie County Legislature’s Majority Caucus voted in favor of Chairman John Mills’ resolution calling for amendments to the Erie County Charter to reform the county’s Ethics Board and revises political donation allowances.

Legislature supports Comptroller’s Charter revision proposal supporting employees serving in the military

The Erie County Legislature’s Majority Caucus is proud to support a proposed change to the Charter that would benefit Erie County employees who are called to active duty with any branch of the military. The recommendation, first proposed by the County Comptroller, received unanimous support from the Charter Review Commission and Erie County Legislature and provides county employees with their full salary during the entire length of their deployment.

Legislature supports Charter revision to end long-term job vacancies, save tax dollars

The Erie County Legislature has approved the Charter Review Commission’s recommendation to address the large job vacancy issue currently impacting Erie County. This year, more than 200 county jobs were funded but left vacant at one time costing tax payers. More than forty of those jobs had been held vacant for more than a year.